Look once more

I have met a woman of my age. It was early in the morning and I was on my way to the office that I’ve recognized a seemingly familiar face. Without hesitation, we smiled and greeted each other. But a thought had lingered my mind for the longest time I could remember. What would it be like to live her life? I know, it’s a very unexpected question. And I thought I had to know her better. So I did. These were some but a few things that can actually describe her. Some were from her own thoughts, motives and core being.

I have heard her laughters. They are fascinating and welcoming. Oh, and they are loud and vulgar. I thought I wanted to have those silly laughs. For a moment, I am envious of the joy she always had. Neither did I know the pain she kept all those times. She laughed, it was true. But those were not everything. When I see her, I saw a woman who has everything perfect falling on her place. And then I looked once more, those eyes have spoken.

I have seen her with a lot of friends surrounding her. From elementary classmates, to high school batchmates, college friends and company officemates. She also had people from church and other extra curricular activities she always keep in touch with. I thought I wanted to have the same peers. Neither did I know she also suffered betrayal of a friend, and disappointments with many she had given her full trust and confidence. She once had them, it’s true. But the story in the middle is quite heart-breaking. When I see her, I saw a woman who had a lot of people supporting her at all times, in all seasons of her walks in life. And then I looked once more, those eyes have spoken.

I have stalked her social media accounts. Like wow, she’s so family-oriented. Every week, she’s spending quality time with her loved ones after church. It’s either they will eat lunch together, watch movie together or travel together. I know posts can really be intimidating, but I have witnessed this by the time I had the chance to visit her. It was so cool. Neither did I know she had personal issues she always have to deal alone. They aren’t perfect, but her family can really be the best example for many. Yet the hash tags don’t narrate the whole story. When I see her, I saw a woman with a perfect family background. And then I looked once more, those eyes have spoken.

I have visited her office once. She seems really enjoying her work and all the benefits there. It is indeed a huge favor given to her and an answered prayer since graduation. Neither did I know she experienced the same problems any employees encounter. No doubt she was happy to where she’s at, but she believes there’s more to it. When I see her, I saw a woman with a great future and successful career already. And then I looked once more, those eyes have spoken.

I have attended church with her. She’s passionate in teaching children and ministering to youth as she had the time. I admire her for that. Neither did I know she wants more, and she is in dire need of that more. There’s no question to her calling, I know she walks in it. But there’s something missing, a void that needs to be filled. She knows. She senses it. When I see her, I saw a woman reflecting Jesus on her own ways. Everything seems excellent. And then I looked once more, those eyes have spoken.

So what do you think? Is it worth living her life and abandoning yours? I thought so.

Every person has a story to tell. Including you. What seems lacking to you may be more than enough for someone, but it doesn’t mean their life is better. What’s more than enough for you may be someone’s dream and biggest hope, but it doesn’t mean their life is worse. You can never compare someone else’s life to yours. Because at the end of the day, even if we had only one Creator – He sure made each one of us unique from each other. One thing is sure though. He called us – the only creation – very good. So don’t see each other as a competitor in this life. Be happy with each other’s triumph and success. Be there for each other in one’s deepest fears and lonely days. Encourage each other.

As for me, I stopped looking at the woman in the mirror. Regardless of her imperfections, I know something perfect will come out of it. She may still not know it. But her God will see it through. Because for her, she’s just living the life Her Savior has planned for her – not just merely thriving, but surviving.

6 thoughts on “Look once more

Leave a Reply

